New Experiences with a Bit O’ Sunshine

This past weekend A and I ventured off to Key West to celebrate our good friend S’s 28th birthday. Needless to say, it was probably one of the best (and slightly crazier) trips I’ve had in awhile. Now if you’ve never been to Key West, it’s as if you put Las Vegas and Waikiki in a blender with a whole bottle of tequila and ice, and out pops this delicious brightly colored concoction that leaves you feeling warm and tipsy all over. That’s Key West.

The whole weekend was filled with frozen fruity drinks and jello shots and margaritas. (Note: this type of drinking is really not our usual weekend habits!) Beyond the alcohol (but not too far), I actually did several things I have never done before: Sunset Cruise (aka Booze Cruise since there was unlimited amount of refills on your margaritas), drag show (which was so much fun I can’t even describe it), and “clothing-optional” bar. Whoa! What did I say? Semi-Nude bar? Huh-uh (my head is bobbing up and down to say yes). Now out of all three, I must say the last one wins the prize.

Okay. This needs a description. It still won’t do it justice, but I’ll try my best. It is “clothing optional” so not everyone was naked (including me and my fabulous crew). Honestly, I would say about 80% of the bar was not naked, and of mixed age groups. It was much more tame than anyone could expect. There were however mostly naked old men and a few topless old women (about a handful). First thought? Whatever floats your boat is fine with me. I’m cool with it. I don’t feel the need to do it but more power to you old man! Let it all hang out in the wind for everyone to see. Second thought? Don’t touch anything and definitely don’t sit on the bar stools!

Leave a Reply

