Five Things That Make Me Happy

I love lists! I think it’s my super-organized and controlling brain that likes to neatly put everything into a list with numbers or dashes. I also noticed that all my close friends will do the same. I guess great minds do think alike!

The past few weeks I’ve really made an effort to be a better person. When I say “better,” I don’t mean that I’m a terrible person at the moment. I give spare change to the homeless when I can, try to recycle everything possible, and have a general concern for animals and humanity. For me, better is happier or more at ease with myself. I’m trying to let the little things not irritate me and be more patient with the parts of life I can’t control (which is a majority of it). This is VERY, VERY hard for this anal control freak. I like the idea of being balanced and comfortable with myself and the life I’m living. On that note, I give you this list of five things that make me feel happy, all the way to my bones.

1. My furry (not fat), uber-mellow, slightly homosexual kitty…you would agree with me if you knew him
2. Cultured, Pink Berry-esque, green tea yogurt with pineapple, mango, and coconut flakes
3. A really good meal (whether it is home-cooked or at a restaurant)
4. A hug from my hubby
5. Listening to certain songs (I have a handful of songs that make me immediately smile…at the moment, I like Jason Mraz’s “I’m Yours.” It’s island-sounding tune reminds me of eating rainbow shaved ice on the beach of Hawaii-home- after a good afternoon of surfing.)

***I also added to my Life list…AND I still have not crossed off anything on it yet. I really need to get moving on it!

Leave a Reply

