Go Vote Already!

It is now November 3 and I can’t express how happy I am that this election is almost OVER! I know there are many people who disagree with me and enjoy all the political hooplah, but I am so tired of looking at the same political ads over and over again. I’m tired of all the biased commentary and people trying to give me multiple reasons to vote their way. No one has yet convinced me that he or she is “one of us.” The only breath of fresh air is the SNL skits that have been created through all of this (which I am watching now). They’re hilarious!

I love that the election has energized people to become involved and aware of the issues that surround them. I’ve never heard such lively political discussion from both party supporters…although I do wish there was a bit more tolerance from both sides on other people’s views. (I get annoyed very easily from both extremes.) Where most people enjoy getting into political debates with the other side, I just get uncomfortable. What can I say? I’m a person who likes to keep the peace and believes in compromise. I don’t always think I’m right. I feel that everyone’s voice has a place in making decisions for our country.

So, who will I vote for? This decision has been stressing me out completely. I am a “swing voter” to the utmost extreme. If you need the official definition, wordnet.princeton.edu defines it as “a voter who has no allegiance to any political party and whose unpredictable decisions can swing the outcome of an election one way or the other.” I am cynical enough that I don’t believe my one vote has that much influence, but we’ll say that it does for now. I hate to be called “unpredictable” but I am since everyday I change my mind. Literally…everyday I’ve had a different answer. One reason for my indecision is that I really don’t trust either candidate (or party for that matter) and find it hard to choose “the better of two evils.” Oh well! I’m sure I’ll be just as energized as most people are once I find a candidate who really represents me. So, who will get my vote? Obama? McCain? Colbert? I’m not sure. We’ll see what issues I find important to me tomorrow and what issues are worth sacrificing.

And that concludes my political chatter for the year!

Figs is so over it too!

Posted in me

Leave a Reply

