Small Reminders of Your Age

Although I am 30, I don’t feel 30. However, every so often I get small reminders that I am officially getting older. I find myself saying, “How can she wear that…it’s so short!” or “Can you lower that music? It’s way too loud.” I never thought I’d ever reach that point, but I guess I have.

Today’s reminder: No Doubt on the Today show. A and I were watching No Doubt perform this morning, very excited about the reunion. As we scanned the crowd we noticed the age of the crowd. Our first thought was that they looked much older than we would have guessed. Then, I realized they are all our age.

I actually don’t mind getting older. I like that I have more confidence and have better finances than I ever did in my twenties. For instance, I was in Vegas a few weeks ago visiting with great college friends. We reminisced about the last time we were in Vegas all together (right after college), and how we were seriously “all together.” If memory serves me correctly, there were about eight of us smashed into a room with two full beds and I slept on the floor. How we coordinated this I have no idea. As we laughed at the memories, I could only think how much nicer it was being 30 and being able to afford my own room with my own bed- something that would never have been possible at 23. Being 30 definitely has perks!

Here are a few more reminders that I’ve encountered recently:

-Friends having babies
-Owning a house
-Not getting carded anymore
-Planning a REAL vacation
-Wrinkle worries

Leave a Reply

