Four Years and a Pocketful of Memories

This month is our four year anniversary. Four years! It feels so short and so long at the same time. In four years, we’ve moved several times and have gone through a couple of career changes. We’ve had some great vacations and few rough patches that have held us together. It’s amazing how much we’ve been able to smash into four years.

Well, in honor of our four years of marriage here are four great memories that I remember as if it were yesterday.

Memory #1: Blame it on the Guinness

A and my first date was about two days after we met. Anyone who knows A knows that he does not follow the rules of waiting to ask a girl out. He knows what he wants and he just goes for it (one of many things I love about him). A was exactly on time, and before we left, the boy slyly left his sweater on my chair so he had an excuse to walk me back up to my door. While taking the T to the restaurant just a few stops up, I remember thinking that we must look funny together because of our height difference. He is 6’4 and I’m 5’2. I actually don’t notice it anymore.

He took me to a small Indian restaurant, which did impress me. The food was good and the conversation was even better. I remember being slightly nervous but excited, you know that cocktail of emotions you get on a good first date. I remember he told me about his trip to India, again I was impressed. We hit all the usual subjects- family, friends, hometowns.

After dinner neither of us wanted the date to end. We stood outside the Indian restaurant trying to figure out what to do next. Here is how the conversation went:

A: Well, do you want to go get coffee? Or, I know a great place across the street that pours the best Guinness. What sounds good to you?

Me: Oh! A Guinness! and I’ve never been to that place. Let’s go get a Guinness.

A: Really? I love you! (with enthusiasm)

Me: *Laugh*

And that is the first time A said “I love you”. Who knew that was all it took?

Leave a Reply

