13 and 14 weeks

I have slacked off a week…I know. I was under the weather and fighting a sinus infection. However, I’m so much better now (no more headaches!). It’s been a busy two weeks. We had our first ultrasound last week and that was pretty amazing. We were a little speechless and kind of in awe, letting the whole thing still soak in that there is this little being inside. I think the OB tech was disappointed she didn’t get the typical excited reaction filled with tears and overwhelming comments. We were both, well, just quiet. I mean, we’re not super excitable people to begin with, but the whole thing just put us in a state of shock. However, we are VERY happy to see that something is there and even happier to know that the baby is healthy with a very strong heartbeat. It has two arms, two legs, one head, and the proper amount of fingers and toes. All good! We did learn that my week-counting has been a week off. I was actually a week ahead. We are NOW at 14 weeks and at the start of the second trimester.

I feel so much better already! The queasiness has eased off and I have no terrible food aversions. The issue I had with smells has also lightened up for me. I learned my terrible headaches and sinus pressure was due to a bad sinus infection, and with a little help from an antibiotic it is all gone. The only struggle I’m having is with sleep. I went from sleeping all the time to a strange insomnia. Perhaps this will come and go like all the other symptoms.

As for physical changes…a little belly has arrived. I’m still getting used to it all. I understand that I’m creating a baby and my body HAS to get bigger. I have no problems with this. The problem has to do with how fast it changes. My clothes (for the most part) fit last week and now this week I have to keep my pants unbuttoned. I bought my first two pregnancy items- a B-band (to cover the unbuttoned pants) and a pair of stretch pants. Thank the fashion gods that black leggings are back in style! Funny thing is, I don’t think I actually eat that much more. I always thought you ate a ton while pregnant because you’re hungrier. I’m actually eating more often, but get fuller faster. I can barely finish a plate when I sit down for a meal since I’m just too full.

13 week pics:

 

14 week pics:

 

And ultrasound at 13 weeks:

6 thoughts on “13 and 14 weeks

  1. Don’t worry about the belly—it’s seeeeaaaaxy!

    And doesn’t it blow you away to see that little person in the ultrasound already?!?! It’s even more mind blowing once they’re out in the real world…….

  2. Ha ha ha! Thanks! I’ll keep that in mind as my belly begins to expand 😉

    It blows both of us away that you can see this little being already. I mean he or she actually looks like a person with these little features. I can only imagine how amazing it will be when he/ she is finally here!

  3. I love those first baby pictures! Glad you’re feeling better, and I hope the sleep returns -and stays – may your child be a good sleeper 🙂

    I remember R could never eat much at a time either. Just several small meals, helped with energy and not feeling sick. Your stomach is now competing for space after all 🙂

  4. Oh wow, there is a little tiny person in there! So glad to hear you are feeling better, and I hope the sleeps balances out to normal soon. This is so exciting to see your progress, thanks for posting!

  5. Look at your teeny tiny baby belly! Ps – I found that a hair rubber band looped through the button hole and the button on my jeans worked wonders for several months rather than having to jump to preggo pants or bands…

    I’m so so glad you’re feeling a bit better! Love you much! – S

  6. I see a bump. Yay, glad that things are going well. You will be happy to hear that it will get better until you hit the third trimester. When you hit the last trimester, I think I was more scared than anything. Knowing that the little being you created with your hubby will be on his/her way in just a few weeks was scary for me. Also, when you hit the fifth to sixth month, it will be very difficult for you to sleep. It was for me from what I remember. Trust me,the maternity store will be your best friend. I was in there so often that the cashier lady always remembered me and we became good friends. I remember gaining only 15-20 pounds when pregnant. After I had my baby, I lost a total of 25 pounds. Amazing what your body does; however, the after effects of having a baby aren’t fun. I have terrible stretch marks and my stomach is soooo flabby now. Well, maybe its because I still eat a lot. Hehehehe. Glad that everyone is strong and healthy. Good work on the updates. 😛

Leave a Reply

