20 and 21 weeks

So what happened to week 19? Who knows!

According to the obgyn and the second ultrasound, I’m back at 20 weeks. Strange that a week just disappeared! (I’m glad to know I was right to begin with though.)

Anyway, the last two weeks have been fun and busy as expected for the holiday season. We continue to work and plan our lives out for 2010, which could bring some positive changes for our little family. Christmas came and went without a hitch. It was a nice and relaxing one, and A and I did enjoy our last Christmas of “just the two of us.” We’re both excited about next Christmas too, but it was nice to have one last one as a couple.

The more I think about a little one added to our family, the more freaked out I get. Not in a bad way…well, maybe a small panic attack or two. But, really more in amazement that this person that will enter our lives in May is a PART of this family (in that they will be always be here and not just visiting). It’s a pretty big thing to think about and wrap your head around. I also feel so much closer to A in a way that I can’t describe. You almost just have to be there. I can’t choose a better partner in all of this and I know that the support I have from him is unconditional. So enough cheese…

Pregnancy is still going well. I feel great for the most part. Sleeping through the night is still a problem and sometimes I actually forget I’m pregnant for a second, which then causes me to move in a way that my body and baby don’t approve of. I’m still not used to having a belly in front of me. I look at myself in the mirror and just stare at it. Every time it looks huge and then I look at the picture the week before and realize that I wasn’t that big, but now I’m bigger. I think this trend will continue until May. I also didn’t realize how hard it was to give up control over a body you are so used to keeping in check. It’s really difficult! However, I am fortunate that this has not been difficult…yet. Food cravings are still about the same, but now the sweet tooth has kicked into high gear. If it was up to me, I’d eat a piece of cake every day! However, I have been good and not doing that (tempting as it is).

Week 20:

 

21 weeks:

 

As you can see, baby is growing! We learned at the last ultrasound that she or he is not quite a pound yet. The obgyn knows the sex of the baby, but we still do not. A and I have a guess, but no real info to back it up. I also learned that little peep is quite the mover and shaker. He or she was very cooperative for the photo session, moving and posing the way s/he should. The tech and the doctor were a little surprised at how much this baby moves (kicking, rolling, punching, etc.). Doctor said it was all quite healthy and nothing for us to worry. (Yeah right! I wonder if this means we’ve got a restless child on our hands!) S/he just likes to remind me that s/he is with us at all times! A has been able to really feel the baby move too, which has been exciting.

According to the books, the baby is about the size of a large banana all curled up inside. S/he can actually taste everything I eat now, so I’ve been making sure to eat extra veggies and fruit. According to my book, it can help the baby have a taste for them later and I will be very happy to have a child who is not a picky eater! The baby’s movements are now more deliberate and not just twitches. Arms and legs are in proportion and the neurons are connecting. Still all pretty amazing to know what is going on!

We’re half way through! I can’t believe it!

4 thoughts on “20 and 21 weeks

  1. How exciting! Glad things are still going so well. I totally remember the feeling of amazement (and near disbelief) that this baby was going to be my kid. I had this moment when H was a few weeks old realizing, not only did we just have a newborn (you’re very focused on newborn type things obviously) but we just had a 5 year old, a 16yo, etc. This little tiny baby was going to grow up, and always be my kid. It’s kinda nuts, but super cool!

  2. I’m so happy for you and A. Last year Christmas was our last Christmas together as a single couple too. Now that Alex is here, I wouldn’t trade him for the world. It truly is different and exciting. You will be a great mom and A will be a great father. Can’t wait to find out the sex of the baby.

  3. Half way there!!! Can you believe it! holy moly, little peep will be here before we all know it! 🙂

    You look lovely – miss you guys – xo

  4. I can’t believe you guys are already at 20+ weeks! You look amazing! Bump is getting preggers-sized 🙂 and it’s finally hitting all of us that you are really pregnant. 😀 Can’t wait to meet him/her! Hugs and love to all of you.

Leave a Reply

