Milestones

It’s pretty amazing how a kid makes you realize that there are really no milestones or big and amazing changes left in your life. That’s why prior to baby, time seems to go at a reasonable pace. But now, all my milestones and changes are counted in baby moments and all I want to do is yell “SLOW DOWN! LET ME CATCH MY BREATH!”

Ruby is 3 months old. I can’t believe how fast the time went. Just one year ago, Miss R was only but a fleeting thought in my head. She is now here and making me feel all misty eyed.

At three months, she is able to smile and do very small giggles (my favorite development of all). She can lift her head high and hold it there for a while when on her belly.

 

She has been able to keep her melt downs to a minimum, only really crying when she is hungry and/ or tired. She still eats pretty often, but it just means she’s growing big and strong. She’s already outgrown some of her 0-3 mo. old clothing. I admit, every time I realize a onesie doesn’t fit her anymore I want to burst into tears. I’m officially a mommy-mess.

 

Another milestone we’ve hit is my first long trip away from her (three whole days). Who knew it would be SO difficult? Well, maybe some of you moms knew. I did not. I thought it would be a little sad, but not to the extent that I’ve become almost an emotional basket case. Every kid I see reminds me of Ruby and I just want to turn around and go home. Unfortunately, this mom has to work to bring home some of the bacon. It’s been a challenge to be a full-time working parent. At times I feel like I’m spread a little thin and not able to give enough to any one particular task or person, which is something I’m not used to. I’m sure it will get better with time and practice.

Oh! And here is a picture of A and me, just in case you were wondering if we still take pictures of us anymore. We do!

2 thoughts on “Milestones

  1. I can’t believe you’re a 3-month momma! Sounds like you’re a trooper getting through your first time away, too. I hate work travel for leaving loved ones and I can’t imagine what it would be like with a baby! And one who is particularly adorable too…her expressions kill me!

  2. Yay! New pics of the Roo! She’s amazingly adorable!! I can’t wait to see her in Sept – and I’m sure seeing her will make me desperately miss my own 😉

    Great pic of the two of you too! An excellent gene pool indeed 😉

Leave a Reply

